Home / Blog / Two former Chancellors expelled from party

Two former Chancellors expelled from party

Two former Chancellors of the Exchequer had the Conservative party whip removed on 3 September 2019 for voting against the government in the latest Brexit bill.

Ken Clarke and Philip Hammond had the whip removed for voting in favour of EU Withdrawal (No 6) Bill. This is a parliamentary bill in the latest showdown between the government and parliament. It requires the prime minister to ask for Brexit to be delayed again to 31 January 2020 unless parliament votes by 19 October 2019 in favour of a new deal or (unlikely) to leave without a deal. Boris has called it the surrender bill.

Ken Clarke is the father of the house, as the longest-serving MP with 49 years service. He has said he will stand down as an MP at the next general election which could be in October 2019.

Philip Hammond was Chancellor for three years until two months ago. He has been an MP for 22 years. His constituency includes Runnymede where Magna Carta was signed in 1215.

The motion to take over the order paper was carried by 328 votes to 301. He would have won if the 21 Conservative rebels had voted the other way. [19.09]